Roswell Coyotes

First Year With BB Team: 1915 First Year in NMAA; 1921 First Year in State: 1923 Colors: Red an White Location: Chaves County

		DIST	SEASON			СН	СН	,	State	е То	urne	у	NOTES
YEAR	HEAD COACH	CLASS		L	PCT.		RT	AP		4	2	1	
106	Grand Totals		1319	867	.603	24	2	42	31	18	11	9	
100	Totals since 1921		1302	852	.604			42	31	18	11	9	
2020	Moses Burrola	4-5A	19	10	.655			*					
2019	Moses Burrola	4-5A	17	11	.607			*					
2018	Moses Burrola	4-5A	20	9	.690			*	Х				
2017	Britt Cooper	4-5A	25	4	.862	1		1	Х	Х	Х	х	State Champion
2016	Britt Cooper	4-5A	23	3	.885	1		*	Х				·
2015	Britt Cooper	4-5A	24	4	.857	1		*	Х				
2014	Britt Cooper	4-4A	29	1	.967	1		1	Х	Х	Х		State Champion
2013	Britt Cooper	4-4A	25	3	.893	1		*	Х	Z			
2012	Britt Cooper	4-4A	24	4	.857	2		*	х				
2011	Britt Cooper	4-4A	21	7	.750	2		*	Х				
2010	Britt Cooper	4-4A	27	2	.931	1		1	Х	Х	Х	Х	State Champion
2009	Britt Cooper	4-4A	23	7	.767	1		1	Х	Х	Х	х	State Champion
2008	Britt Cooper	4-4A	16	12	.571			*	Х				·
2007	Britt Cooper	4-4A	18	11	.621	2		*	Х	Х			
2006	Britt Cooper	4-4A	22	7	.759	1		*	Х				
2005	Britt Cooper	4-4A	20	9	.690	2		*	Х	Х			
2004	Britt Cooper	4-4A	18	7	.720								
2003	Britt Cooper	4-4A	18	8	.692	1	1	*		Х			
2002	Britt Cooper	4-4A	10	14	.417								
2001	Britt Cooper	4-4A	9	17	.346	2	*						
2000	Britt Cooper	4-4A	15	8	.652								
1999	Britt Cooper	4-4A	16	9	.640	2		*	Х				
1998	Britt Cooper	4-4A	9	15	.375								
1997	Britt Cooper	4-4A	8	16	.333								
1996	Britt Cooper	4-4A	10	14	.417								
1995	Britt Cooper	4-4A	7	16	.304								
1994	Joe Cantou	4-4A	12	11	.522								
1993	Joe Cantou	4-4A	14	11	.560								
1992	Randy Lyons	4-4A	10	13	.435								
1991	Randy Lyons	4-4A	16	9	.640								
1990	Randy Lyons	4-4A	10	15	.400								
1989	Randy Lyons	4-4A	11	13	.458								
1988	Randy Lyons	4-4A	11	13	.458								
1987	Randy Lyons	4-4A	24	4	.857	1		2	Х	Х	Х		Coach of the Year
1986	Randy Lyons	4-4A	12	13	.480								
1985	Randy Lyons	4-4A	16	9	.640	2		*	Х				
1984	Bruce Bussell	4-4A	5	18	.217								
1983	Dale Gannaway	4-4A	4	19	.174								

Roswell Coyotes

First Year With BB Team: 1915 First Year in NMAA; 1921 First Year in State: 1923 Colors: Red an White Location: Chaves County

	HEAD COACH	DIST SEASON					СН	9	State	To	urne	V	NOTES
YEAR		CLASS		L	PCT.			AP		4	2	1	NOTES
1982	Dale Gannaway	4-4A	9	14	.391						_		
1981	Ben Summers	4-4A	3	19	.136								
	Ben Summers	4-4A	7	19	.269								
	Ben Summers	4-4A	7	18	.280								
	Ed Hailer	4-4A	3	20	.130								
	Ken Hall	4-4A	18	9	.667								
1976	Ken Hall	4-4A	11	15	.423	2		*	Х				
	Ken Hall	4-4A	1	23	.042								
1974	Dan Hays	4-4A	8	17	.320								
	Ron Lang	4-4A	11	14	.440								
1972	Don Duncan	4-4A	11	14	.440								
1971	Al Burger	4-4A	14	12	.538								
1970	Al Burger	4-4A	8	17	.320								
	Al Burger	4-AA	14	11	.560	2		*	Х				
	Al Burger	2-AA	6	15	.286								
_	Bob Fitt	2-AA	19	9	.679	3		*	Х				DT 4 teams went to ST
1966	Bob Fitt	2-AA	7	18	.280								
1965	Bob Fitt	2-AA	25	2	.926	1		2	Х	Х	Х		
1964	Bob Fitt	2-AA	30	3	.909	2		1		Х	Х	Х	State Champion
1963	Van Witt	4-A	28	7	.800	2		1	Х	Х	Х	х	State Champion
1962	Van Witt	4-A	19	8	.704								
1961	Van Witt	4-A	23	7	.767	2		*	Х				
1960	Van Witt	4-A	17	12	.586								
1959	Van Witt	4-A	29	4	.879	1		4	Х	Х			
1958	Van Witt	4-A	20	8	.714								
1957	Van Witt	4-A	23	7	.767								
1956	Van Witt	4-A	14	12	.538								
1955	Van Witt	4-A	16	10	.615								
1954	Van Witt	4-A	6	18	.250								
1953	Van Witt	5	11	18	.379	2	*						
1952	Van Witt	5	27	7	.794	2	1	1	Х	Х	Х	Х	State Champion cf 27-8
1951	Van Witt	5	1	2	.333								
1950	Roy Anderson	5	4	1	.800	5						L	
1949	Poe W. Corn	5	11	12	.478	2		*					
1948	Poe W. Corn	5	4	1	.800	5							
1947	Poe W. Corn	5	1	1	.500								
1946	Poe W. Corn	5	2	1	.667								
1945	Poe W. Corn	5	3	1	.750	5							
1944	Poe W. Corn	5	7	12	.368								
1943	Poe W. Corn	5	3	1	.750	3							
1942	Poe W. Corn	5	6	1	.857	1		*					
1941	Poe W. Corn	5	27	2	.931	1		5					See Note-6 below

Colors: Red an White

Location: Chaves County

First Year With BB Team: 1915
First Year in NMAA; 1921
First Year in States 1922

First Year in State: 1923

		DIST	SEASON			СН	СН	5	State	э То	urne	у	NOTES
YEAR	HEAD COACH	CLASS	W	L	PCT.	DT	RT	AP	8	4	2	1	
1940	Poe W. Corn	5	7	2	.778	1		*					
1939	Poe W. Corn	5	19	9	.679	3							
1938	Poe W. Corn	5	5	3	.625	2		*					
1937	Poe W. Corn	5	4	1	.800	1		*					
1936	Poe W. Corn	5	3	1	.750	3							
1935	Art Corum	5	3	1	.750	3							
1934	Art Corum	5	2	2	.500	4							
1933	Art Corum	5	6	10	.375								
1932	Art Corum	5	18	4	.818	1		*					
1931	Art Corum	5	2	2	.500	4							
1930	Art Corum	5	16	5	.762	1		*	Х				
1929	Art Corum	PV	15	2	.882	1		*	Х				
1928	Art Corum	PV	15	2	.882								
1927	Art Corum	PV	22	2	.917	1		1	Х	Х	Х	Х	State Champion (See Note 5)
1926	Art Corum	PV	9	1	.900	1		1	Х	Х	Х	Х	State Champion (See Note 5)
1925	James Shinkle	PV	6	2	.750	1		4	Х	Х			
1924	James Shinkle	PV	2	1	.667								
1923	James Shinkle	PV	6	1	.857	1		3	Х	Х			
1922	James Shinkle	PV	4	0	1.000	1							See Note-4
1921	James Shinkle		6	3	.667								See Note-3
1920	William Shultz		4	7	.364								See Note-2 at end of data
	C. R. Biggs		8	1	.889								"Claimed" State Championship
1918	E. A. Brock		4	4	.500								No detail info in Annual
1917													No detail info in Annual
1916	H.V. Jones												No detail info in Annual
1915	T. H. Briggs		1	3	.250								First Year of Boys Basketball
													See Note 1 below

Note-1

The first graduating class at Roswell High School was in 1902. Roswell had football and baseball programs as early as 1909. Girls basketball started in 1906-1907 under Coach W. S. Hicks. In that year the girls lost to Artesia and beat Hagerman twice. For the game at Artesia, some fans rode the train, some rode bicycles, and some drove down in automobiles! In 1910, students were looking forward to a new school building with "indoor basketball grounds."

Note-2

In 1920, Roswell beat Hagerman 18-17 in a barn with a dirt floor. Light was by candles!

Note-3

In 1921, Roswell was the champion of the Pecos Valley. However, they did not enter the state tournament. No reason was found.

Note-4

In 1922, weather (snow) prevented Roswell from traveling to Albuquerque for the State Tournament.

Ft. Sumner substituted for Roswell, because they could travel to Albuquerque by train.

Roswell Coyotes

First Year With BB Team: 1915
First Year in NMAA; 1921

First Year in State: 1923

Colors: Red an White	
Location: Chaves County	

		DIST						State Tourney		•	NOTES		
YEAR	HEAD COACH	CLASS	W	L	PCT.	DT	RT	AP	8	4	2	1	

Note-5

In 1926 and 1927, Roswell represented New Mexico in the National Tournament as NM State Champions. In 1926, The Coyotes beat Hagerston, Maryland, 35-30, but lost to Fitchburg, Massachusetts 31-12 in the second round. In 1927, Roswell got a bye in the first round, beat Ft. Fairfield, Maine 20-13 in the second round, and lost to Batesville, Arkansas 28-12 in the third round.

Note-6

In 1941, Roswell was by far the best team in the state, losing only one game to El Paso, Texas. In the first round of the state tournament, Roswell lost to Tucumcari 35-33, in one of the biggest upsets ever in the state tournament! Roswell received the trophy for Sportsmanship in the State Tournament.